Union Jack – The British Flag

Not a lot of people know that the official name of UK is not simply United Kingdom but the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK for short). The union is composed of four smaller countries namely: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Each of these smaller countries have their own capital city, own set of cultures, own regional language and even have their own flags.

London is the capital of the United Kingdom and is part of England. The British Isle is about twice the size of New York City, a small country yet was able to become one of the most powerful countries in the world. Northern Ireland on the other hand, is part of the northern part of the Irish island and is separated from the Great Britain isle.

The British flag also known as the Union Jack is a combination of three flags coming from England, Scotland and Ireland. Wales flag was not included then because at the time of the Union, Wales was a principality not a kingdom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *